Improvised Hummus

Despite my tahini kick (or because of it), I found myself without the usually requisite ingredients for hummus come lunchtime today.  But that’s okay!  I improvised with the usual chickpeas, garlic, lemon juice and olive oil.  At the last minute, I threw in some horseradish for extra tang.  That’s the beauty of improvised hummus- you throw in whatever you like!  I was in the mood for something light and tangy, but my sister wanted something a little more rich and traditional.  I’ve provided both recipes below, but I think the best thing you can do is use chickpeas as your canvas and get creative! – Amanda

Horseradish Hummus

1 can chickpeas

1 tablespoon olive oil, plus more for drizzling

1 tablespoon horseradish

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 cup water

1 lemon, juiced

salt and pepper to taste

paprika to garnish

Directions

1.  In a food processor, blend all ingredients (except paprika) until smooth.

2.  Drizzle over olive oil, dust with paprika and serve.

Olive Oil Hummus

1 can chickpeas

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 1/2 lemon, juiced

5 tablespoons olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1.  In a food processor, combine until smooth.

2.  Serve with bread, crackers and/or crudite.

Leave a Reply

