Buckwheat Cream

I love having oatmeal for breakfast, but after seeing variations of this recipe online I thought some morning grain experiments would be fun.  I was surprised by how much I like this.  The texture reminds me of greek yogurt.  To be fair, I haven’t had dairy-based yogurt in years, but that silky, full mouthfeel was familiar.   I topped mine with raspberries, figs and chia seeds, but play around to suit your own tastes.  Enjoy! -Amanda

DSCN3127

Buckwheat Cream

Yields: 2 servings

 

1 cup raw buckwheat groats, soaked overnight

1/2 cup cashews, soaked overnight and drained

1/2 cup water

1 tablespoon maple syrup

1/4 tsp. cardamom

1/4 tsp. salt

fresh fruit (optional)

chia seeds (optional)

 

Directions

1.  Drain and rinse the buckwheat groats.  You may notice some slimy residue from the soaking.  That is perfectly normal- it will drain away.

2.  Add all ingredients to a blender and blend until desired consistency is reached (I like mine silky smooth).

3.  Top with fruit and chia seeds, if desired.

Leave a Reply

